Udhagamandalam, The "Queen of hill station" is the capital of Nilgiri district. It is one of the best tourist resorts. Nilgiris is called as "Blue Mountains".The name Nila, we know to have been used over 800 years ago since,the King of the Hoysalas Vishnu Vardhana, who ruled from 1104 to 1141 A.D. seized the Nilgiris Plateau.His general Ponisia recorded this fact in 1117 A.D. with mention of Todas.The name Nilgiri was due to the blue haze which envelopes the range with most distant hills of considerable size.
History of Ooty
Ooty was aptly named as the 'Queen of Hill Stations' by India's first Prime Minister, Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru. This hilly region spans over an area of 36 square kilometer and is seen with numerous tall buildings cluttering on its slopes.
Ooty is known by many names of which one is Udagamandalam followed by Whotakaimund, Wootacamund and Ottakalmandu. The names for Ooty were derived from a blend of Toda and Tamil words wherein the Toda Tribes are known as the indigenous inhabitants of Ooty who settled here long before any civilization was even seen in this hill station.
In fact, when you break down the Tamil word ‘Whotakaimund’, ‘Whota’ points to a species of dwarf bamboo found only the forest regions of Ooty, the word 'kai' points to a fruit or green stuff and 'mund' points to a village thus forming the word Whotakaimund.